Sunshine Blogger Award

sunshine bloggeraward

Guess who’s back from her unannounced hiatus? ME. I was so busy for the last one and a half month with all my semester exams and practicals that I just couldn’t fit in the time to blog (bound to happen when you leave all the studying to be done at the last minute). Anyways.. exams are finally over and summer vacations have started. That means it is time to READ and BLOG. I’m so excited! ❤

I was nominated towards the beginning of the year by Kourtni @ Kourtni Reads for the Sunshine Blogger Award. Thought this would be a fun little post to help get back on the groove. So without any further ado, let’s get on with this.

THE RULES OF THE TAG:

  1. Thank the person who nominated you in a blog post and link back to their blog.
  2. Answer the 11 questions sent by the person who nominated you.
  3. Nominate 11 new blogs to receive the award and then write 11 new questions.
  4.  List the rules and display the Sunshine Blogger Award logo in your post and/or on your blog.

What 2017 releases are you most excited for?

There. Are. So. Many. I feel like 2017 has been an incredible year when it comes to new releases. I can’t wait to read The Hate U Give by Angie Thomas, Caraval by Stephanie GarberAlways and Forever, Lara Jean by Jenny HanFlame in the Mist by Renee AhdiehOrigin by Dan Brown, Once and for All by Sarah Dessen to name a few off the top of my head.

 What book did you read in 2016 that you want everyone to read?

Even though I read quite a few books last year, I didn’t have as many five star reads that I’d have liked to have. But there are two particular books stand out : All the Bright Places by Jennifer Niven and To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before by Jenny HanI absolutely loved these two books and I wish everyone would read them.

Are there any authors whose books you desperately want to like, but just can’t get into?

Okay. So unpopular opinion time. I tried reading Shiver by Maggie Stiefvater but couldn’t get past the first ten pages. I’ve heard so many great things about her writing and I felt really bad for having to put it down. The same goes for An Ember in the Ashes by Sabaa Tahir. Hardly read the first fifty pages. I don’t know why this happened because both of these books are pretty much loved. I do plan to give them another try this year so we’ll see.

 What was the most recent book you read that surprised you (in either a good or bad way)?

I recently read The Rose and the Dagger by Renee Ahdieh and I LOVED it. I had read The Wrath and the Dawn last year and even though I did enjoy it, I didn’t expect a lot out of the second book. But I was blown away by the writing and the rich imagery, to say the least.

Are you participating in any reading challenges this year?

I’m participating in the Goodreads Reading Challenge. I’ve challenged myself to read 100 books this year (failing, as of now). I’m also taking part in the Beat the Backlist challenge and trying to complete the Grand World of Books Bingo.

What was the last book you bought?

I bought the (absolutely beautiful) Penguin Drop  Cap edition of Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen and The Book Thief by Markus Zusak around a month back.

 What’s one thing you’d like to see more of in books?

Proper and more representation of Indian characters. I recently read the ARC of When Dimple Met Rishi by Sandhya Menon and loved it. It was so true in the depiction of Indian people and I’m so happy with the representation. That’s how it is like in families in my country and I want to see more of that in international literature. Nothing would make me happier!

Where do you go most often for book recommendations (other blogs, Goodreads, etc.)?

I get most of my book recommendations from other blogs and booktube. And also Goodreads, at times.

Is there anything you like to do while you read? Listen to music? Eat?

Not really. I feel like my concentration gets hampered so reading is a single task affair for me.

If you could only read one genre for the rest of your life, which would you choose?

I can’t read one genre for the rest of my life. I just can’t. 😛 I’ll tell you my favorite genres though : Young Adult, Mystery/Thriller, Fantasy and Adult. I can lead the rest of my life with these.

What’s one trope that you’ll never get tired of?

Best friends to lovers. I LOVE this trope (when done right). It’s fluffy, sweet and cute and usually ends up with me shipping the characters so hard.

Nominations

I’m nominating these amazing bloggers :

Rants and Raves of a Bibliophile

Taylor @ Taylor Reads Books

 Flavia @ Flavia the Bibliophile

Alyssa @ Pucks and Paperbacks

Questions

  1. What has been your favorite 2017 read so far?
  2. What is the one summer read that you’d recommend everyone to read in this season?
  3. What has been the favorite interaction that you’ve ever had with an author?
  4. How has blogging changed your life?
  5. What do you enjoy doing – other than reading?
  6. Is there any food combination that everyone else finds weird but you love? If yes, then do share!
  7. Have you ever judged a book by it’s cover?
  8. If you could be any fictional character for one day, who would you be?
  9. Who is that one villain that you love to hate?
  10. What is your favourite reading place?
  11. What is the one book that you want to see a movie adaptation of?

That’s it for today. See you in my next post!


Come connect with me on : Goodreads Instagram Twitter

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

