My Dream Bookish Panel

My Dream Bookish Panel.png

Hello everyone! Around a month back, I was asked who’d be on my dream bookish panel. I was absolutely filled with glee when I got the opportunity because.. come on! Imagining what our dream bookish panel would look like is nothing short of a treat for us bookworms.

First things first, let me introduce you to Eventbrite. They are the largest self-service ticketing platform in the world that helps people find and plan events. If you’re looking to plan and/or find a conference panel in your local area, they have a great conference management page which you can make excellent use of.

I would host this panel of mine at the beautiful city of Kolkata – my home! It is pristine and culturally apt to receive this wonderful bundle of talent. A beautiful discussion with the backdrop of Prinsep Ghat or Victoria Memorial, to name a few settings, would be just heavenly. And now without any further ado, let’s get on with this exciting post!


India.. India!

I live in India and I’ve always felt that Indian literature doesn’t get the spotlight that it deserves globally. Since I don’t have the means to attend the big panels which take place around the world, I’d like this post of mine to focus more on my country’s gems.

 

India.. India! (4)

The Indian authors who I’d love to have on my panel are :

• Ruskin Bond – I’ve grown up reading his stories and for me, his stories encapsulate the beauty of my country and the people living in it. His words have the power to transport you to a blissful and calm sense of mind

Vikram Seth – This man, to his credit, has written one of the longest novels to be ever published in a single volume in English language. Apart from all of his literary credentials, he is also a public supporter of Gay rights. We need more people like him in our country to talk on important issues like this.

Shashi Tharoor – He is a former diplomat and a politician. Now, I don’t always agree with all his views but he is a captivating speaker. He is an acclaimed author of fiction as well as non-fiction and it is a dream of mine to listen to him live.

• Arundhati Roy – Aside from  being the author of the Man Booker Prize winning novel The God of Small Things, she is an activist for human rights. She has always been there to take a tough stand on various issues and I’ve always found her to be extremely inspiring.

| All of the Indian authors would have a discussion on Indian literature – the highs, the lows and what more should be done to make it reach a larger audience. This panel would be moderated by Barkha Dutt (a journalist of excellent par). 

 

India.. India! (2)

I can’t have a dream bookish panel without including my favorite authors from across a varied range of genres.

FANTASY

It’d be impossible for me to complete this dream of mine without including my all time favorite author J. K. Rowling. She is so exuberant and a force of nature. Her stories inspire me and have made me who I am and it’d be an honor to listen to her just narrate her life story (and yes, I wouldn’t a few additional Harry Potter information.. shh!)

DYSTOPIA

The name which comes to my mind is Suzanne Collins. I love her world building and it’d be so incredible to have her on a panel and discuss the nuances that involve with making such a character driven story.

YOUNG ADULT 

John Green.. John Green .. John Green! I love his vlogbrother videos on YouTube and I love his TED talk. In my opinion, he has a great way of resonating with the youth and that’s something that I’d definitely like to have on my panel.

CONTEMPORARY 

I absolutely love Jenny Han and E. Lockhart. They’d be incredible additions to the panel with their own personal way of making their characters absolutely realistic.

THRILLER / MYSTERY

Gillian Flynn, Tess Gerritsen and Dan Brown . These three names appear on the top of my mind when I think this genre. They write such well-detailed psychological thrillers and they’d be such invaluable additions to the panel.

ADULT FICTION

My dream wouldn’t be incomplete without including Khaled Hosseini and Jeffrey Archer. I can vouch by these two authors. I absolutely love their writing and they have such vast amounts of knowledge and have so many important topics to talk about.

| I would have all these international authors have a panel discussion on how they came about to write their own books and just share a general experience of their careers. It’d be a fun and interactive discussion, for both the authors and audience. This would be moderated by Sarah Dessen. 

 

India.. India! (5).png

Now.. my dream panel wouldn’t be complete without including a few of my favorite characters. I want these people – Hermione Granger, Sherlock Holmes and Percy Jackson. It’d be an explosive trio.

| I give these three characters the liberty to talk about anything that they want. This panel would be moderated by the symbol of wisdom – Albus Dumbledore. 

 


India.. India! (6).png

So what do you think of my dream bookish panel? Tell me about YOUR dream bookish panel. Who’d feature on yours? 

Come be friends with me on  Goodreads | Twitter | Instagram .

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

One thought on “My Dream Bookish Panel

  1. Pingback: Mid-year Book Freak Out Tag | 2017 |

Leave a Reply

