Top Ten Books On My Early Summer TBR

Top Ten Tuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. This week’s topic is actually Top Ten Books On My Spring TBR but I’m tweaking it just a little. I live in a part of India where we don’t really have spring. It is straight up winter and then summer. It has been so hot these past few days that I don’t really see a point in making a Spring TBR and since temperatures are going to be soaring a lot higher, I’m going to be making an Early Summer TBR. So let’s get started!

1. When Dimple Met Rishi by Sandhya Menon 

when.jpg

Yes, I’m sure you’ve seen this book doing rounds in the book community. It has created a lot of buzz. The book is a contemporary about two Indian characters, Dimple and Rishi, who live in America and their parents want have decided on their arranged marriage – but the girl doesn’t know about it. Now, I’ve read a handful of contemporaries featuring Indian characters written by Indian authors and I honestly couldn’t care less about them. The author was kind enough to send me an eARC of this novel and I really want to know if this book is as good as everyone is saying it to be.

2. City of Bones by Cassandra Clare

city.jpg

 I know. I know. I still can’t believe that I’ve not read even a single book in The Mortal Instruments series. But I WILL change this in 2017. I will. 

3. A Darker Shade of Magic by V. E. Schwab

vee

 The last book in this trilogy recently came out and it has been everywhere. The hype has really got to me and I absolutely love the concept of different types of London existing parallely and I just can’t wait to start with this. 

4. Matilda by Roald Dahl 

mat

I got this book recently for my birthday and I’m just so excited to read it. Matilda is a children’s classic but I’ve just never come around to actually read it. I’ve read quite a few stories of Roald Dahl and I absolutely adore them. I’m way too excited for a 19 year old to read this book.

5. Caraval by Stephanie Garber 

cara

Yes. This book has been everywhere. It is all people talk about now a days and the hype has definitely consumed me. I recently won the UK hardcover edition of this book in a twitter giveaway (YAY!) and I can’t wait to start reading it because if the reviews are any indication, this book is an absolute must read on 2017.

6. Shiver by Maggie Steifvater 

shi

I bought this book last year in the month of April and it has been just sitting on my bookshelf since.I’m not actually a huge fan of the whole werewolf angle in stories but since I’ve already bought it, I might as well read it. I don’t expect too much out of the plot honestly but I’ve heard some really good things about Maggie Steifvater’s writing so I hope that it turns out to be a good read. 

I’m including only six titles for this list because I also have my semester exams during this time and I don’t want to put too much pressure on myself. Have you read any of these books? What did you think of them? Which books are on your tbr list for spring? Do comment. I’d love to know! 

Take care, everyone! 

 

4 thoughts on “Top Ten Books On My Early Summer TBR

Leave a Reply

