Uninspired? Yes, me.

Lately, I’ve been feeling quite uninspired. I’m on my summer break and  I had planned to catch up on my reading/writing during this time. Even though I’ve been reading a LOT, I haven’t been feeling like writing.

I’ve been using Wattpad as a platform for applying my writing skills (the little bit that I have, that is) since 2014 but in the second half of 2015, I wasn’t able to write anything for the lack of time. It has been more than a month since my exams have finished but I’ve not written anything new. I have two unfinished stories on there : Margarita With a Straw and Eighteen. I also have a finished work : Biggest Mistake.

Photo 27-04-2015 11 34 15 pm.jpg Photo 9-05-2015 10 57 25 pm.jpg THE BIGGEST MISTAKE.png

I had got quite a good response for MWAS and I KNOW how the rest of the (unwritten) story is going to progress but I just don’t feel like writing. Why? I presume for my lack of inspiration. You see, music has always inspired me. I guess, I can say that it has been a whetstone for my (limited) imagination. But it has been quite some time since I’ve heard something new which has fired up my brain, so as to speak.

So today, I’m asking you a favor. Tell me your favorite songs. Songs which inspire you, encourage you. Songs which make you feel like you are on the top of the world. Songs which give you the sense of determination. Songs which make you believe in yourself. I don’t care if it is a new or an old song. I don’t care if it has been sung by an artist I’ve never heard of. I don’t care which genre it is. I just need something that will inspire me again. So PLEASE help me my fellow amazing bloggers!

P.S. Please don’t think that I’ve made the covers. I asked some talented girls to do it for me : @katerina__xx (the first two covers) and @purebloods (the last one).

11 thoughts on “Uninspired? Yes, me.

  1. I don’t listen to music while I write. I find it distracts me! Have you ever hear of 8tracks? It’s a website as well as an app where people post music playlists. You can search the playlists by tag, genre, really whatever. I find the my favorite to listen to when I used to listen to music while I wrote was indie and acoustic. You can also search the tag ‘writing’ and I’m sure there are tons of great playlists!

    Recently, I found myself uninspired in my writing. I skipped four promised updates on my book “The Day Hope was Murdered” and considered not finishing it and just taking it off Wattpad, but this article helped inspire me: http://writetodone.com/it%E2%80%99s-time-to-finish-your-book-9-productivity-tips-for-writers/

    Now I write for 30 minutes a day (or 750 words, whichever comes first) using Write or Die. It’s a web app that starts blaring violins if you stop writing for so much as 15 seconds. It helps me from getting distracted. You can use the free version at http://oldandbusted.drwicked.com/#Web+App

    I do hope you get out of your writing slump Phoenix! I really enjoyed reading MWaS and I know you can finish it this summer if you set your mind to it ❤

    Like

  2. Music inspires me as well, I feel I write better and more fluently when listening to it!
    Hmmm, my playlist varies with songs of Bastille, Kodaline, Elvis Presley, love songs, sad songs, maybe that’s a bit helpful? ☺😊

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

