The Maze Runner

the maze runner.jpg

Book : The Maze Runner

Author : James Dashner

Series : The Maze Runner – #1

Publishing Year : 2009

Page Count : 371

Format : Paperback

 

 

Synopsis :

” When the doors of the lift crank open, the only thing Thomas can remember is his first name. But he’s not alone. He’s surrounded by boys who welcome him to the Glade, an encampment at the centre of a bizarre maze.

Like Thomas, the Gladers don’t know why or how they came to be there, or what’s happening to the world outside. All they know is that every morning when the walls slide back, they will risk everything to find out.”

                                                                     

With the movies and everything, The Maze Runner is one such book that keeps coming up during conversations. I’ve been wanting to start with this series for quite some time and I FINALLY read it a few days back. And I was pleasantly surprised with it.

First and foremost, I quite liked the writing. I didn’t find it to be extremely fast paced or anything but it wasn’t slow either. The pace was such that gave me the impression as if all the events were happening in real time. The authors uses weird words like “shuck”and “klunk” in abundance which I was found hard to adjust to when I started with this book but as the story progressed, I found myself getting accustomed to those words. Dystopia is one such genre that truly doesn’t have any limitations and to his credit, James Dashner does a really good world building. The Maze and the life that the Gladers lead is an excellent piece of imagination.

Thomas, Newt and Minho – these are all characters that  I immediately took a liking to. They are all so brave and courageous to the point that sometimes I went like – What the hell?! All of them have been wiped off their memory but they have still been able to build, more or less, a self-sustaining community. The reader can actually sense the confusion that Thomas is going through, just trying to make sense of everything. I also have to mention Chuck. He is just such an endearing character.

All in all, I really enjoyed reading The Maze Runner. Yes, there were a few parts that didn’t make much sense. There were far too many times when Thomas would try to remember something and voila – he remembered it! All of a sudden. I also felt, in terms of the information regarding all the Hows and the Whys, a LOT of it was held back. Maybe that’s what is supposed to bring back the reader. I’ll definitely pick up The Scorch Trials and I hope it will be as good as the first book.

RATING : 4.5/5

Have you read The Maze Runner? What did you think of it? I’d love to hear your opinion. 🙂

 

2 thoughts on “The Maze Runner

Leave a Reply

